where
facebook facebook twitter mailing list press contact

WELCOME TO THE OPTIMO (ESPACIO) BULLETIN BOARD - ESTABLISHED 11:11:2000

love is the message

<  Echatio  ~  What to buy?

stoob
Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 11:55 am Reply with quote
Hey guys.

Since the majority of you on this forum appear to be DJís I am hoping some of you can help me out here.

I am looking to buy a set of decks in the near future. I am completely new to it, so have no idea as to what to get. I am willing to invest big if it means getting the right equipment. Have heard that it is good to get Technics as they donít depreciate much (good if i decide to cut my losses early on) but what sort of outlay am I looking at? Any decent cheaper alternatives?

Should ableton be considered?

It is purely for personal pleasure. I have no aspirations of starting my own club night or anything like that.

Any links or advice appreciated

Cheers
Music:Response
Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:25 pm Reply with quote
Joined: 19 Jan 2007 Posts: 1256 Location: On The Wave Of Contradiction
My advice would be to go into Rub A Dub and explain what you're looking for. They'll be very reasonable and very informative, plus (though this isn't guaranteed) if you mention you were recommended there from the Optimo forum, you may get a wee discount

I'd say this is the best idea if you're trying to keep your outlays down as they won't bullshit you; they'll give you what you need for home DJing

In regards to Ableton, the software costs what it costs. Unless you got a cracked copy, which of course is illegal and I would never recommend doing such a thing. Yes, a cracked copy would massively keep your costs down, but I would never recommend it. No.

Can't get around
stoob
Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:58 pm Reply with quote
Thanks M:R, much appreciated
teamy
Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 1:57 pm Reply with quote